A Zebra in the Garden

IMG_2201

Last night, on the local news, they did a piece on Powell Gardens Butterfly Festival and the sad fact that many butterflies are dying this summer because of the drought.  I didn’t make it to the festival this year, but went outside this morning to find this pretty Zebra Swallowtail.  Nothing exotic, but watching it flit from sparse bloom to sparse bloom and then to the dirt to eat it reminded me why I spend $300 on my water bill.

IMG_2197

~ by kcjewel on August 12, 2012.

6 Responses to “A Zebra in the Garden”

  1. OMG…it’s beautiful! I don’t know that I’ve ever seen one before. Water bill may be high, but the beauty in your garden is priceless.

  2. What in the world! This is so beautiful! I’m amazed at some of the animals I see on here and the fact that some people see them all the time! Thank you so much for sharing this photo! It’s amazing :)

    ~My Blog

  3. Nice! I like the different textures behind the “Zebra” between the two photographs. Adds a contrast that is fascinating.

  4. Not exotic! It is stunning, and one I have never seen. Love these photosQ
    Jewel, we have so many butterflies this year. Could it be they moved away from the drought?

  5. Very pretty! Those that live near tended flower gardens are the lucky ones!

  6. What a gorgeous butterfly! That species would be exotic in my garden!

Leave a Reply

 
