Controversy

IMG_9256

Leave it to an artist to create a “stir” especially when the art is politically charged.  This installation of cargo containers is between the National World War I memorial and the Federal Reserve… the opposite side of USA says IOU.  Need I say more?  Probably not, because I don’t intend to be political here, but I do find this art extremely interesting and who doesn’t like to go see a stack of cargo containers on a beautiful day?  Art by John Salvest and if you are really bored here is a video of the installation.

IMG_9264

On a lighter note, this art made me literally stop my car in the middle of the street… thank goodness there wasn’t any traffic!  I guess PBR had an art contest, but so far I’ve not been able to find any information on this particular billboard and it’s artist.  LOVED IT though!!

IMG_9247

Yesterday was another art fair day, this time at Crown Center.  Hallmark artists displayed their personal artwork at HallMarket.  It wasn’t the fine art of the Plaza Art Fair, but it is a joy to see what our local artists do in their spare time and it was a beautiful day for an art fair! It was nice not to have to deal with the massive crowd of last weekend as well.  Although, I’m sure the artists would have loved a huge crowd!

IMG_9241
IMG_9240
IMG_9225

Life really is a special occasion!  Hallmark… I hope you are around for a long, long time!

~ by kcjewel on October 2, 2011.

2 Responses to “Controversy”

  1. Sometimes art just is controversy. Thank goodness we live in a country that allows us our individual views…art and politics;)

  2. I love that PBR billboard. I’d almost say it looks political too!

Leave a Reply

 
