jewel’s Iris

This is always the first iris to bloom.  It’s an old one and was at the house when I moved here.  It has color tones that I’m drawn to, as do a lot of the plants that were here.  It would have been nice to have met the previous gardener.  I snapped this real quick last night and it is a good thing because after rain all day today they are a little worse for wear.  Iris are beautiful when they are dry!!  The temperature roller coaster continues… it’s cold again today.

~ by kcjewel on May 5, 2011.

6 Responses to “jewel’s Iris”

  1. That is a beauty! We transplanted a bunch of them today, but none will be as pretty as this one!

  2. It’s a very nice bloom… certainly no hybrid giant, but what it lacks in size it makes up for in color. Wow, you really are having some spring if you are planting!

  3. Oh, I would love to have a dress in those colors! So pretty!

  4. That’s very pretty! We have purple ones, but I’m not sure if they have yet to bloom, or if I missed it.

  5. LOVE irises! I have a variety in my garden that I received from my neighbor that is over 200 years old. Was passed down in her family for generations. Another variety I got from her smells like grape soda! Yes, she is a nice neighbor to have. :-)

  6. Oh, it looks like a sunset! Good shot, too.

Leave a Reply

 
