Kate’s Bridal Bouquet (jewel version)

Today was probably the most beautiful day in recent memory… so beautiful I didn’t come inside until 8:45 this evening after an entire day in the garden.  I had a little fun making myself a bouquet with the flowers that were in Princess Catherine’s (I like that title better than Duchess of Cambridge) bridal bouquet yesterday.  I was a bit critical of the bouquet, then I read about the actual flowers chosen.  The flowers, being ones that can be gathered from the garden, including mine, have special meaning…

  • Lily of the valley – Return of happiness
  • Sweet william – Gallantry
  • Hyacinth – Constancy of love
  • Ivy – Fidelity; marriage; wedded love; friendship; affection
  • Myrtle – The emblem of marriage; love

… and the fragrance is delightful.  Needless to say, I have changed my mind about the bouquet… it was perfect!  The dress was perfect too and I find the story of the lace as fascinating as the meaning and tradition behind the bouquet.  The lace on the dress detailed a rose, thistle, daffodil and shamrock, and was hand-made by the Royal School of Needlework at Hampton Court Palace. I need a close up of the lace… off to find a pic… I’m sure there’s one out there somewhere!!

Edit:  No close up of the lace that I can find, but this photo (photographer unknown) shows a bit more of the detail than any other photograph I’ve seen yet.  I’m sure close ups will surface soon.  I failed to mention that veil… maybe the most perfect of all including the dress and the flowers!

Official press release

~ by kcjewel on April 30, 2011.

6 Responses to “Kate’s Bridal Bouquet (jewel version)”

  1. Her dress was perfect. The perfect dress for a fairy talee princess wedding. It was really cool reading about the flowers in her bouquet. I love the fact that she carried simple common seasonal flowers–but ones with lots of meaning. And your little bouquet is lovely too!

  2. Her bouquet was a refreshing change from the hand-tied bouquets that have been so popular for the last decade. The most talked about dress (or maybe the figure in it!) is the brides sister

    Here is a different view of the day
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-13247503

  3. I liked reading about this. The meanings are in my herb books, but I had not heard about Kate’s bouquet.

    Her dress was just right. She was a beautiful bride, and I love the idea that her dress was so full of thought.

  4. Her dress, veil and bouquet were perfect to my eyes. Elegance, simplicity and beauty all rolled into one. The size of the bouquet was good. Not overpowering. Many are far too large.
    And the meanings of the flowers made it extra special.

  5. Wasn’t it a beautiful wedding? I didn’t get up early, though, and DVR’d it instead.
    Love your little bouquet, it turned out really pretty.

  6. What a wonderful post! I thought the same thing about the bouquet…but now, I agree. Perfect! I wish the happy couple much love in their new life together!

Leave a Reply

 
