Royal Wedding

Today was the obvious day to visit the Diana – A Celebration exhibition at Union Station.  With the true love of her life getting married in only a week it was just the thing to do.  It’s so very sad that she did not live to see William marry.

I was “shooting from the hip” per se… no photography allowed, so the camera was dangling at my side.  G9 was on full auto with no flash, of course and I was not aiming, looking in the viewfinder or looking at the display except for a couple of shots which didn’t turn out as well as some of the others.  A true test with not half bad results.  I did get quite a few shots of the ceiling, walls and even the floor at times.  There were a few of my fingers as well… those were the ones where i forgot to remove my hand from the front of the camera.

The shots of the back are pretty willy nilly (wonder why), but I love that photograph of her on the wall to the right.

It was right about the time I snapped this one that I do believe the security guard suspected something was going on… he started following me. :)

There was even a real wedding cake, said to be a replica of the Charles and Diana wedding cake.

I’m one of the crazy ones who will be up early next Friday to watch history again.

I presume it is obvious that there was no gardening or garden photography today… it was cold and rainy again.  At about 6 o’clock this evening everything cleared so hopefully tomorrow will be warm and sunny.

~ by kcjewel on April 22, 2011.

5 Responses to “Royal Wedding”

  1. Those turned out pretty darn good, considering you didn’t really take them ;-)
    That is sad, that she didn’t live to see her son get married :-( I remember watching her wedding all those years ago.

  2. Having that much fabric in a dress just boggles my mind. I’m kind of hoping Kate will go for something simpler! It must have been a treat to go and see it though. I’m pretty impressed at how welll your photos turned out.

  3. You did a good job. I would have enjoyed being there. Thanks!
    Happy Easter.

  4. Thanks everyone for the positive feedback… thank goodness for “straighten”! Michaela, I remember watching too and look forward to next Friday! kateri… i would guess this one will be a bit more refined… time will tell. Sandy if it ever comes your way do travel.

  5. Your “clandestine” shots are great…did the security guard follow you home?!

Leave a Reply

 
