The Scent of Spring

This lilac doesn’t smell half as nice as the viburnum below.

and… this viburnum… well, it just stinks.  Of the three, it is the closest to the place where I sit the most… go figure.  There must be something very sweet about it though because the bees love it.

It was a beautiful weekend with some sun, some clouds, some cold, some warm and lots of wind.  A bit too muddy to do any work.  At least that was my excuse while sitting here watching tennis!

~ by kcjewel on April 17, 2011.

11 Responses to “The Scent of Spring”

  1. Really pretty blossoms! I’m looking forward to lilacs too.

  2. Viburnums are magical! I don’t believe the third image is viburnum (henbce the ‘stinking’). I believe that is a Japanese White Spirea.

    We are still at least a month away from these shrubs blooming for us…. :-(

  3. Beautiful white lilac…too bad they don’t last all season!

  4. Beautiful pictures…I love the flowers this time of year…

  5. I can almost smell the lilac.
    Love the hint of pink in the second… I think we used to have that in our yard, too, when we first bought the house, but the foundation-fixer-people tore it out and didn’t replant it somehere else (the NERVE!!). Hubby knew – and didn’t care – but I had no idea until it was too late :-(

  6. I like your idea of a white garden with highlights. These are all pretty. Now I am going to have to go to a nursery so that I can sniff a viburnum.

  7. Thanks everyone! The stinky viburnum is Viburnum rhytidophyllum or Leatherleaf Viburnum. The beautifully scented one is Viburnum x juddii or Judd Viburnum. Be careful what you sniff Sandy!

  8. Fascinating! I stand corrected! Don’t have those in our area.

    Each year I look forward to when my Korean Spice Viburnum blooms – the fragrance is heavenly and fills the area with a wonderful perfume that lasts and lasts.

  9. I can see where you thought that by looking at the photograph… it’s 10′ height and 8″ bloom doesn’t really convey! ;) I actually went to the nursery looking for Korean Spice but purchased Judd since they didn’t have KS. Does Korean Spice last more than 3 or 4 days? What is disappointing about this one is it’s short bloom time and it doesn’t cut well at all.

  10. As long as we don’t get torrential downpours, the blossoms will last over a week…

  11. i love the touch of pink on the viburnum that ‘doesn’t stink’:)

Leave a Reply

 
