Card Party!

When I was growing up my parents always went to a card party on New Years Eve and took us of course.  It usually consisted of 8-10 couples who had a pitch tournament till the wee hours.  These photographs of the Hall’s tribute to 100 years of Hallmark cards lend new meaning to “Card Party”… decorations made from vintage Hallmark cards.  These were taken through Hall’s storefront windows so there are some reflections of our beautiful Plaza Lights here and there.  I’ve never tried to photograph “the lights”… others do it so beautifully my work could never meet my expectations.

Have a safe New Year’s Eve!

I’ve added one of the best photographs of the Plaza Lights I’ve ever seen and credit the photographer, Cassandra.  I hope she doesn’t mind the link to her beautiful work.

~ by kcjewel on December 31, 2010.

7 Responses to “Card Party!”

  1. Love the photos…reminds me of a great day! How about a paint party? Happy New Year’s

  2. Looks like a great card party! :-)
    Those lights are beautiful!

    Happy New Year!

  3. I could hold the can and keep my mouth shut… would that help?

  4. michaela… you must come back to KC at Christmas sometime to see those lights! Happy New Year to you as well.

  5. The Hallmark display is really something. Even in doing that they show their creativity. The Plaza lights are really pretty, and Cassandra’s photo is spectacular! Have a very pleasant New Year’s Eve!

  6. The people who did the card displays are pretty creative. The lights are beautiful. Happy new year!

  7. The Plaze card is beautiful. I´ve never heard of a card party before, but it seems that Google can explain everything. Sounds like fun.
    Thank you for visiting my blog in 2010. I wish you a Happy new year, Kcjewel.

Leave a Reply

 
