Forever

This photograph is of the Clare Twomey exhibit “Forever” at The Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art.  The cup tables are suspended by wire and hold the 1345 cups in the collection.

I hope to be the owner of Cup # 0247, but my chances are 60 in however many attended the exhibit during the past week.  In other words, slim to none.

Twomey was inspired by the Burnap Collection of English Pottery donated by Harriet and Frank Burnap in 1941, as well as the 1,345 pieces in the collection, but particularly this caudle cup inscribed “Mrs Mary Sandbach her Cup anno dom 1720.”   I was quite surprised that the original piece is much larger, possibly four times larger, than the cups in the collection.

~ by kcjewel on November 14, 2010.

One Response to “Forever”

  1. […] I made this post several months ago about an art exhibition at the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art. After many visits, and deed completions, I was not a recipient of a Cup from the exhibition.  As it turned out, there were 30 recipients who did not claim their Cup so it allowed me a chance to obtain unclaimed property.  I had to submit a label and 30 recipients were to be chosen.  My label was chosen by Julián Zugazagoitia, Director and CEO. I’m so honored to have been selected. […]

Leave a Reply

 
