Wonder? …land

I don’t have much memory of reading Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland as a child, but after reading it today, I’m convinced that Lewis Carroll must have fallen down the rabbit hole himself, or in modern terms… he had to be smokin’ crack!!  Does someone consciously create a hookah smoking caterpillar sitting on some sort of magic mushroom, or a baby that turns in to a pig, or flamingos as croquet mallets and hedgehogs as croquet balls?  Ummm, no!

That was one sick Tea Party!  (Can’t wait to see Johnny Depp as the Mad Hatter!)

The whole conversation with Mock Turtle (that’s the thing mock turtle soup is made of ) and Gryphon is my favorite…  “he taught us Drawling, and Stretching and Fainting in Coils.”  “I went to the Classical master though. He was an old crab, he was.”  “Soles and eels, of course. … any shrimp could have told you that.”  “No wise fish would go anywhere without a porpoise.” “Why, if a fish came to me, and told me he was going on a journey, I should say, “With what porpoise?””

Since I’m into “secrets” it seems… the following part of the White Rabbit’s testimony is a favorite.

“…  Don’t let him know she liked them best

For this must ever be

A secret, kept from all the rest,

Between yourself and me.”

In all the insane writing, there were many familiar things… orange marmalade, white kid gloves and a fan, a thimble, grinning like a Cheshire cat, “We’re all mad here.” and…  “Oh, ’tis love, ’tis love, that makes the world go round!”

If you think too much, it just gets “curiouser and curiouser”.  I won’t wait so long to read this again!!

PS… Apologies for the lame picture but it’s late.  Maybe I’ll attempt a better one tomorrow and replace this one.

“Why IS a raven like a writing-desk?”

~ by kcjewel on February 20, 2010.

3 Responses to “Wonder? …land”

  1. The desk must be one of those black lacquered jobs.
    I agree with you on Carroll. Is is a kid’s book?

  2. It’s doubtful that Carroll knew it at the time, but it was written just for Johhy Depp (or possibly Jim Carrey).

  3. I had thought it would be a movie to take my 3rd grade grandson to,…. nooooooo….. saw the previews and decided I will go but do it alone or with a friend, just to enjoy the fantasy. He must have been smokin’… :) Said me here grinning like a Cheshire cat! :)

Leave a Reply

 
