Middle of Nowhere

IMG_1596

There is a lot of “middle of nowhere” driving between Kansas City and Dallas, but that can also lend itself to some real beauty. This field was a carpet of yellow wildflowers dotted with some bright purple thistles of some sort. Possibly some of the wildflower aficionados can tell me what the “thistles” are.  I failed to get a close up of the yellow flowers and would have liked to know what they were as well.

IMG_1597

IMG_1627

~ by kcjewel on October 1, 2009.

6 Responses to “Middle of Nowhere”

  1. That is some very pretty scenery! I’ve not seen the purple blossoms before, but they are striking!

  2. I don’t know what the purple flower is either, but it is very unique and pretty. It looks so peaceful out there in the middle of nowhere!

  3. How beautiful…makes me want my own place in the “middle of no where”. There are over 100 species of thistle…wonder if this could be one?

  4. It’s like looking at images from a great safari but with horses in place of the zebras and a West South Central States locale instead of the African Savannah. I love it.

  5. Oooh, I like that last flower macro, that has nice colors and an interesting shape. I like how you positioned the other bud in the background, blurry with the DoF.

  6. I love this picture!!

Leave a Reply

 
