Guacamole

IMG_9878

I typically cut the bloom stalks off the hosta plants as they are appearing since, when spent, they fall on the leaves and make for a really unappealing display. However, Guacamole, is an exception. It has blooms almost as large as an amaryllis and they smell like gardenias. If I could only have one hosta it would be Guacamole and a very large space. This one is about 5 feet across and it will bloom for nearly a month. It’s the sweetest smell in my garden next to the Stargazers!

We are having more glorious rain and I just had a portion of a neighbors tree trimmed that was hanging over my redbud and magnolia trees. I can’t believe they climb those trees in the rain… I heard one of them say, “Don’t be a sissy or I’m gonna charge you to come down.” hahaha

Listening to The Wallflowers, Three Marlenas… he sounds and looks so much like his father!!  Will be seeing them in concert soon… can’t wait!

~ by kcjewel on July 20, 2009.

6 Responses to “Guacamole”

  1. Y’know, before the image appeared, I fully expected chips and salsa to accompany your post ;-) Great name for a hosta, however, and a beautiful plant. I’d no idea their blooms had scent.

  2. That is a stunner for sure. When I first saw the photo, I thought it was an exotic lily. (And I admit that is not what I was expecting when I clicked on the title.)

  3. Me too! I thought for sure the green chunky stuff would be pictured here! But nope…a beautiful white flower graced our presence… Very nice!

  4. Holy Guacamole! That’s some flower!

  5. Gorgeous! You have these in your garden? Thats way too cool! I’m trying to get as many flower shots as possible before I get back to my office! 5ft?1? :O is that the plant or the flower??? :O

  6. Is it too soon to say: I am in love!!!!!

Leave a Reply

 
