Bleeding Heart

img_58571
To water the garden or not to water the garden? We had storms all around us last night, but not a drop of rain at my house. I’ve vowed, the past two years, not to water as much and begin planting things that will conserve water usage. So far my lawn is the thing that has suffered the most, but I really don’t enjoy mowing the grass anyway, so a lawn of drought hardy shrubs and perennials is my goal. The creeping jenny and white clover both stay green, even through our hot summers, so I’m going to stop fighting them. In fact, it’s kinda nice walking on a floor of white clover!!

The bleeding heart loves to seed itself but, since I’m not watering as much, the self seeders have some difficulty germinating. There are a few new ones popping up here and there, but not like when I was watering regularly. I do feel good about the water conservation so it makes the change worth the result!!

It looks like it’s going to be a Beautiful Sunday… headed out to get some sun and get my hands dirty!!

The kiss of the sun for pardon,
The song of the birds for mirth,
One is nearer God’s heart in a garden
Than anywhere else on earth.
~Dorothy Frances Gurney, “Garden Thoughts”

~ by kcjewel on April 26, 2009.

9 Responses to “Bleeding Heart”

  1. It’s certainly good to conserve water and I’m happy to see more folks doing that! We have been doing that too, watering only a small patch of lawn and some flower beds.

    That is a very nice photo!

  2. Gorgeous picture! I’m far from a gardener, if you don’t mind me asking are Bleeding Hearts difficult to grow? They are so beautiful.

    Thank you for nice comment on my blog. :)

  3. If you had been sitting next to me just now, you would have heard a quick inhale through my teeth followed by a certain four letter expletive beginning with “d” (said under my breath, of course). The image took my breath away. The white is stunning.

  4. Thanks montucky, Amber and burstmode! montucky… I think we’ve taken our precious water for granted for too long so I’m trying to do my part. Amber, bleeding hearts are very easy to grow. You put them in a semi-shady part of the garden and let them do their thing. The leaves go away in June/July so you don’t know they are there until the next year. burstmode… dayum has 5 letters. *smiles*

  5. I’m envious. I never see bleeding hearts around here (Virginia). Too hot, perhaps?

  6. OWww!! Fabulous! Bleeding hearts..is that its real name?? I just love it.

  7. iheartfilm… they definitely don’t like heat!
    wildblack… i’m not a plant snob *smiling* so i don’t know the species name, but the common name is bleeding heart. they typically are two shades of pink, but i prefer the white! tx for taking a look and commenting!

  8. WOW! Absolutely gorgeous!

  9. I love this picture! It is so striking. My bleeding heart isn’t even out of the ground yet….Canadian winters can last too long.

Leave a Reply

 
